International Association of Hydrological Sciences Association Internationale des Sciences Hydrologique

IAHS 2017


IAHS 2017 Scientific ASSEMBLY

10 – 14 JULY 2017

Port Elizabeth, South Africa

"Water and Development: scientific challenges in addressing societal issues”



The South African National Committee of the International Association of Hydrological Scientists (SANCIAHS) invites you to participate in the 2017 IAHS Scientific Assembly to be held from July 10-14 in Port Elizabeth, South Africa.
The theme of the meeting is "Water and Development: scientific challenges in addressing societal issues” which is particularly appropriate in the context of an IAHS Scientific Assembly meeting being held for the first time in sub-Saharan Africa and is well aligned with the IAHS Panta Rhei.
South Africa has a rich and varied hydrological history and has been a research leader in many aspects of hydrology through years of paired catchment and process hydrology research, model development and in the inclusion of scientific knowledge as exemplified by the South African National Water of 1998. SANCIAHS is a strong and active network representing South African hydrologists and has been active for nearly 40 years recently hosting it's 18th national symposium. SANCIAHS is joined by Waternet as a major scientific partner in hosting the 2017 Scientific Assembly. WaterNet is a southern Africa regional network of university departments and research and training institutes active in integrated water resources management.

The session programme for the various symposia and workshops is now available.
Papers from Sessions S1 & S2 will be published as PIAHS volumes.

Conference Fees

Early Bird (up to May 15, 2017) - Euro 450
After May 16, 2017 - Euro 480

Abstract submission fee - Euro 37

Please note that the submission deadline for all sessions is 6 March 2017.

Please also note that PIAHS volumes will be post-published.

There is no day registration.
Students and young scientists from southern Africa can apply for sponsorship when they submit an abstract.

Organisers Denis Hughes and Graham Jewitt  Conference Website