## IAHS Ltd, Report of the Chair - April 2018

IAHS Ltd is the UK-registered legal entity responsible for:

- The IAHS staff at the office at CEH Wallingford, UK, and their activities
- Managing the Association's finance
- The Association's charitable role

IAHS Ltd is a limited company reporting to Companies House (London, UK) and regulated by UK company law, and also a charity registered with the Charity Commission of England and Wales and subject to charity law. The relationship between IAHS Ltd and the Association is that of a working group tasked with facilitating the Association's work and running of the IAHS office. The IAHS Statutes ensure that the Board/Trustees include the President, Secretary General and Treasurer of the organisation. IAHS Ltd currently has three Board members:

- Hubert Savenije IAHS President (soon to be replaced by Günther Blöschl)
- Christophe Cudennec IAHS Secretary General
- Cate Gardner IAHS Treasurer and Chair IAHS Ltd

## and a Company Secretary:

- Helen Houghton-Carr (who recently succeeded Mike Acreman)

and all four are the Trustees of the Charity.

The Board last met on 6 February 2018 at Wallingford. The meeting reviewed IAHS activities and finance in 2017 but particular focus was on setting the budget for 2018 and the outlook for future years, the renewal of the *Hydrological Sciences Journal* publishing contract with Taylor & Francis, the arrangements with Copernicus for conferences and publishing *PIAHS*, and the setting up of a dedicated fund for supporting young hydrologist attending IAHS meetings.

The IAHS Executive Secretary, Claire Lupton details the activities of the Wallingford office in her report, and the IAHS financial statements are in the Treasurer's report. Claire does well running the IAHS office and managing the many different strands that her role requires. Frances Watkins is now supported by Sara Rafferty, appointed in August 2017. On behalf of IAHS, I wish to express our gratitude for all their contributions and their professionalism.

CMKG 5 April 2018