2020 News

2020 IAHS News

« Back to News

2020 SYSTA Awardees

The IAHS Sivapalan Young Scientists Travel Awards (SYSTA) initiative was launched in 2018. The aims of SYSTA are to: (1) strengthen attendance of IAHS Meetings from financially disadvantaged countries (FDCs) to address the currently low attendance; and (2) foster high quality science among a new generation of hydrologists.

In early 2020, IAHS were pleased to award nine SYSTA awards up to the maximum award value of €2,000 for attendance at IAHS Commission meetings in 2020. If meetings are postponed or cancelled due to the global pandemic then the awards will be transferred to attendance at the IAHS Scientific Assembly in Montpellier or an IAHS Commission meeting.

The following awards were confirmed for 2020:

9th International Water Resources Management Conference of ICWRS in Cairns, Australia in July 2020.

Mohammad Merheb Lebanon
Charles Onyutha Uganda

STAHY 2020 in Valencia, Spain in September 2020.

Akinwale Temitope Ogunrinde Nigeria
Mostafa Moradi Dashtpagerdi Iran
Ahmed Mohammed Sami Al-Janabi Iraq
Adarsh Sankaran India

Hydrology of the Major African Basins in Cotonou, Benin in November 2020.

Yao Affoué Berthe Côte d’Ivoire
Ouedraogo Issoufou Burkina Faso
Pilabina Somiyabalo Togo

Our warmest congratulations go to all our awardees.

      | More