SYSTA Awards

SYSTA: Sivapalan Young Scientists Travel Award



SYSTA awards are available to eligible early career scientists attending IAHS events. Typically IAHS intends to make around 20 awards per year. The “Sivapalan Young Scientists Travel Award” is named in recognition of the hydrologist M. Sivapalan and based on the following considerations:

    • M. Sivapalan is a world leading scientist who has invigorated the hydrological sciences within IAHS through spearheading the Prediction in Ungauged Basins (PUB) and other initiatives.
    • M. Sivapalan is the perfect role model for young scientists as he has shown to the world how somebody from a financially disadvantaged country can indeed advance to the top.

Applications will be considered from scientists that meet ALL of the following criteria:

    • They grew up and now reside in a financially disadvantaged country.
    • They are registered for a PhD, or completed their PhD less than 5 years ago (an extra year per child is allowed for parents if they took parental leave).
    • There is evidence of their high quality/high potential as a scientist in the form of a paper of which they are first author in Hydrological Sciences Journal (HSJ) or Proceedings of the International Association of Hydrological Sciences (PIAHS) (or in another listed hydrological journal).
    • They have not previously received a SYSTA award for intercontinental travel.
    • They will be giving a presentation at the meeting.

Applications should be submitted as early as possible and at least 6 months before the event, unless a fixed deadline has been advertised through IAHS eNews (archived at and communication of eligible conferences, which will take precedence. Applicants should email the completed application form and a copy of their paper to [email protected] Before submitting their application form, applicants should read the “Guidance on completing the SYSTA application form” document. Applications must be made in English.

The submission will be reviewed by the SYSTA committee and approval for grant of an award, and the amount, will be notified by email within 6 weeks. A formal letter that can be used to support visa applications can be provided by the meeting Local Organizing Committee (LOC).

The award will be limited to a maximum of €3200 per individual covering registration fee, visa fee (if necessary), limited subsistence, accommodation and transport. IAHS will pay registration fees directly to the LOC and seek to procure flights and accommodation through our travel agent. Payment of the award will only be made on participation in the event.

Information on annual awards:






  back to top