2020 SYSTA awards

The IAHS Sivapalan Young Scientists Travel Awards (SYSTA) initiative was launched in 2018 and is an annual award. The aims of SYSTA are to: (1) strengthen attendance of IAHS Meetings from financially disadvantaged countries (FDCs) to address the currently low attendance; and (2) foster high quality science among a new generation of hydrologists.

In early 2020, IAHS were pleased to award 9 SYSTA awards for attendance across three IAHS meetings in 2020 up to the maximum award value of €2,000.

Unfortunately due to travel restrictions as a result of the global pandemic all of these meetings were postponed or cancelled. The 2020 awardees will all be able to transfer their award to future IAHS Commission meetings or the IAHS 2022 Scientific Assembly in Montpellier, France.

The awardees for 2020 are as follows:

IWRM, Cairns, Australia, July 2020
Mohammad MERHEB Lebanon
Charles ONYUTHA Uganda
STAHY, Valencia, Spain, September 2020
Ahmed Mohammed Sami AL-JANABI Iraq
Mostafa Moradi DASHTPAGERDI Iran
Akinwale Temitope OGUNRINDE Nigeria
Sankaran ADARSH India
4th International Conference of the Great Rivers of Africa, November 2020
Issoufou OUEDRAOGO Burkina Faso
Somiyabalo PILABINA Togo
Affoué Berthe YAO Côte d’Ivoire

Our congratulations go to all the awardees and we look forward to meeting them at a future IAHS meeting.

  back to top