International Hydrology Prize Winners

(click header to see winners)

The International Hydrology Prize is awarded annually by IAHS, with UNESCO and WMO, to two people who have made an outstanding contribution to hydrological science.

Nominations for the Prize are made by National Committees to IAHS, National Committees to the UNESCO-IHP or National Hydrological Advisors to the WMO, and forwarded to the Secretary General of IAHS for consideration by the Nomination Committee. The Committee consists of the President and a Vice-President of IAHS and representatives of UNESCO and WMO. 

Since 2014, two medals have been awarded under the International Hydrology Prize: the Dooge medal and the Volker medal. Both medals are intended to distinguish outstanding achievements by hydrological scientists but with a different focus. The Dooge medal is aimed at fundamental contributions to the science of hydrology, whereas the Volker medal is aimed at outstanding applications of hydrological science for the benefit of society at large. 

The following applies to both the Dooge and Volker medals

    • The International Prizes in Hydrology shall be awarded to persons who have made outstanding contributions to hydrology such as confers on the candidate universal recognition of his or her international stature 
    • The contribution should have an identifiable international dimension extending beyond both the country of normal work and the specific field of interest of the candidate
    • The medals may be awarded to hydrologists of long international standing or to younger but active hydrologists who exhibit qualities of international leadership in the science or practice of hydrology
    • An active involvement in the work of IAHS and other international organizations in the field of hydrology should be counted as an advantage.

Nominations should consist of:

    • A nomination letter (max. 2 pages A4 format) signed by a National Representative to IAHS, the President of a national committee of UNESCO-IHP or a National Hydrological Advisor to the WMO, with one sentence citation (max. 200 characters), and stating why the nominee is the most qualified person to receive the Volker or Dooge medal, paying attention to the medal's dedication specified above,
    • The nominee's CV (max. 3 pages, A4 format) with an emphasis on the contribution to hydrological science and international scientific cooperation, providing clear information on the main criteria used for the evaluation and the specific considerations mentioned above,
    • A list of the major scientific publications (max. 2 pages, A4 format).

Nominations should be received by the Secretary General (copy [email protected]) no later than 31 December of the previous year.

Specific considerations for the Dooge medal

    • The Dooge medal is particularly intended for hydrologists who have demonstrated scientific excellence, and have made fundamental contributions to the science of hydrology as evidenced by publications in the international scientific literature and other evidence of high standard,
    • Preference should be given to candidates who have recently exhibited outstanding international leadership in the science of hydrology.

 Specific considerations for the Volker medal

    • The Volker medal is dedicated for hydrologists who have applied their research and hydrological expertise to the benefit of society, addressing issues of public interest and development
    • Applications of hydrology to the benefit of developing countries would count as an advantage
    • Preference should be given to candidates who have contributed through both scientific and practical work, and who have made outstanding contributions to the Hydrology community as demonstrated by active involvement in the work of IAHS or other international hydrological associations.


The General Assembly of IAHS held at Canberra in 1979 endorsed the principle of an International Hydrology Prize awarded annually from 1979 until 2013 on an individual basis in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the science. Since 2014 two medals (Dooge and Volker) have been awarded. The Hydrology Division of UNESCO and the World Meteorological Organization contribute to the Prize and are represented on the nomination committee.


  back to top