2019 IUGG General Assembly SYSTA Awardees

The IAHS Sivapalan Young Scientists Travel Awards (SYSTA) initiative was launched in 2018 and the first meeting eligible for an award was the IUGG General Assembly in July 2019. The aims of SYSTA are to: (1) strengthen attendance of IAHS Meetings from financially disadvantaged countries (FDCs) to address the currently low attendance; and (2) foster high quality science among a new generation of hydrologists.

In early 2019, IAHS were pleased to award 15 SYSTA awards for attendance at the IUGG General Assembly in Montreal, Canada in July 2019 up to the maximum award value of €2,000.

A reception and mentoring event was organised with Prof. M. Sivapalan at the 2019 IUGG General Assembly for all SYSTA awardees, members of the IAHS Early Career Committee from FDCs and early career recipients from FDCs of IUGG funding awards allocated by IAHS. Due to events beyond our control, 2 awardees were unable to make the trip to Canada.

The awardees who were able to attend the IUGG General Assembly were as follows:

Name Nationality / Country of Residence
Sergio Andrés SALAZAR Colombia/Spain
Jean Homian DANUMAH Cote d’Ivoire
Serge Kouakou DEH Cote d’Ivoire
Sekouba OULARE Cote d’Ivoire
Giovanny MOSQUERA Ecuador
Jothibasu ARUMUGAM India
Jew DAS India
Rudra Mohan PRADHAN India
Jean Nepomuscene NAMUGIZE Rwanda
Abdoulaye FATY Senegal
Saoussen DHIB Tunisia
Supattra VISESSRI Thailand

Left to Right: Sergio Salazar, Supattra Visessri, Kasiviswanathan Kasiapillai Sudalaimuthu, Jean Danumah, Professor M. Sivapalan, Jew Das, Jothibasu Arumugam, Giova Mosquera, Rudra Mohan Pradhan

Reports from the attendees will follow soon and be published on this page.


  back to top