You are required to be logged into Twitter / X to be able to view the content of this feed.

Hydrological Sciences Journal (HSJ) is the official Journal of the IAHS and provides a forum for original papers and for the exchange of information and views on significant developments in hydrology worldwide. It is published by Taylor & Francis and available online and in print format.

The scope of the journal includes:

    • the hydrological cycle
    • surface water, groundwater, snow and ice, in all their physical, chemical and biological processes, their interrelationships, and their relationships to geographical factors, atmospheric processes and climate, and Earth processes including erosion and sedimentation
    • hydrological extremes and their impact
    • measurement, mathematical representation and computational aspects of hydrological processes
    • hydrological aspects of the use and management of water resources and their change under the influence of human activity
    • water resources systems, including the planning, engineering, management and economic aspects of applied hydrology.

The co-editors of Hydrological Science Journal generally select one paper per issue to highlight as a Featured Article to be available on a free-to-view basis for a limited period. The co-editors aim to select the most innovative papers with exciting science. Tison award papers are also available free-to-view.

Online access to papers in the two most recent volumes of HSJ is by library/personal subscription; all earlier volumes are available open access. The latest articles including accepted author versions are published online prior to being assigned to an issue and may be cited using the doi.

The Impact Factor
of HSJ is 3.5 (©2023 Clarivate Analytics, 2022 Journal Citation Reports®) with a 5-year Impact Factor of 3.7.


The editors welcome original articles, scientific notes, opinion papers, technical notes and discussions. All papers submitted to HSJ are considered for peer review. Submissions should be made online via ScholarOne Manuscripts. New users should first create an account.Submissions should be made via the Author Centre. Authors are advised to follow the Instructions for authors before submitting a manuscript.


A preferential subscription rate (online/online+print - go to HSJLink to order) is available to IAHS Members for personal use. IAHS members in the poorest countries receive free online subscriptions.
Member subscriptions are accessed using your personal log in at HSJLink in the IAHS membership area. IAHS membership is free of charge.



Attilio Castellarin


Stacey Archfield


Aldo Fiori


Konstantinos Soulis


Riddhi Singh

Editorial Office

Editorial Manager

Lottie Rundall


Submission and Review Coordinator

Kate Hill


Associate Editors (year of appointment)

Pedro Luiz Borges Chaffe (Brazil), Maria Grodzka-Łukaszewska (Poland), Fernando Nardi (Italy), Bertil Nlend (Cameroon), Afua Owusu (Ghana), Dingzhi Peng (China), Long Yang (China), Tongtiegang Zhao (China), Yanlai Zhou (China)


Svenja Fischer (Germany), Tobias Krueger (Germany), Arpita Mondal (India), Yiannis Panagopoulos (Greece), Simone Persiano (Italy), M. Cristina Rulli (Italy), Kai Schröter (Germany), Marthe Wens (Netherlands)


Brunella Bonaccorso (Italy)


Ankit Agarwal (India), Marco Bianchi (UK), Slaven Conevski (Norway), Evan Davies (Canada), Auguste Gires (France), Tobias Heckmann (Germany), Daniel Kingston (New Zealand), Ozgur Kisi (Georgia), Giuseppe Mascaro (USA), Michelle Newcomer (USA)


Marina Batalini de Macedo (Brazil), Mehmet Cüneyd Demirel (Turkey), Zheng Duan (Sweden), Elmira Hassanzadeh (Canada), Monica Ionita (Germany), Ghulam Jeelani (India), Oscar Link (Chile),  Michael Nones (Poland), Christina Papadaki (Greece), Daniele Penna (Italy), Ilaria Prosdocimi (Italy), Mojtaba Sadegh (USA)


Alessio Domeneghetti (Italy), Stephanie Kampf (USA), Olga Makarieva (Russia), Santosh M. Pingale (India), Diego Rivera (Chile), Karen Ryberg (USA), Xun Sun (China)


Krysztof (Chris) Kochanek (Poland), Andrea Petroselli (Italy)


Gabriele Chiogna (Germany), Mike Hutchins (UK), Steve Lyon (Sweden), Flavia Tauro (Italy)


Fi-John Chang (Taiwan, Republic of China),  Ronald van Nooijen (The Netherlands)


Shaochun Huang (Norway), Nesa Ilich (Canada), Elena Volpi (Italy)


Laurent Ruiz (France)


The policy of
Hydrological Sciences Journal, as agreed by the IAHS Bureau (General Assemblies of Baltimore, 1989, Perugia, 2007, and Gothenburg, 2013), is that the term of appointment of Associate Editors should be limited to a period of three years, renewable upon Editors' invitation, with new Associate Editors being invited to serve each year as existing ones retire from the panel. The number of Associate Editors was increased to 60 in total (in 2019).

The date of appointment is given after each entry.

Former Editors

Zbigniew W. Kundzewicz


Demetris Koutsoyiannis


Mike Acreman


Ross Woods


Address by Demetris Koutsoyiannis Address by Attilio Castellarin    


Former Associate Editors

Former Editorial Manager

 Frances Watkins


Address by Kate Heal

HSJ Awards
Follow HSJ!

X (Twitter) Facebook LinkedIn

  back to top