2024 Falkenmark Award winner announced

The winner of the 2024 IAHS Falkenmark Award for best PhD thesis has been announced as Dr Djim Diongue from Université Cheikh Anta Diop, Senegal for his thesis entitled "Water partitioning in the sol-vegetation-atmosphere continuum in semi-arid regions: Applying mechanistic modelling and water stable isotopes in the Groundnut and Ferlo Bassin, Senegal". The award ceremony is scheduled to take place 4-7 November 2024 in Florianopolis, Brazil during the joint IAHS and the Brazilian Association of Water Resources (ABRHidro) conference. 


The Falkenmark Award for best PhD thesis:

  • Recognises outstanding contributions to hydrological understanding of water scarcity and water supply.
  • Is granted every year, starting 2023 (nomination must be submitted no later than 31 December).
  • Highlights the importance of capacity building and knowledge/data gathering in financially disadvantaged countries.

Eligible nominees:

  • Grew up in a financially disadvantaged country.
  • Performed the PhD work in one or more financially disadvantaged countries.
  • Holds a PhD certificate, which is dated within the last 2 years.


Back to NEWS

  back to top