IAHS Awards – call for nominations

Nominations are currently being accepted for the three main awards as follows:


The International Hydrology Prize is awarded annually by IAHS, with UNESCO and WMO, to two people who have made an outstanding contribution to hydrological science. More information on how to nominate including the list of previous awards is available here

Two medals are awarded under the International Hydrology Prize: the Dooge medal and the Volker medal. Both medals are intended to distinguish outstanding achievements by hydrological scientists but with a different focus. The Dooge medal is aimed at fundamental contributions to the science of hydrology, whereas the Volker medal is aimed at outstanding applications of hydrological science for the benefit of society at large. 

Tison Award

The IAHS Tison Award, established in 1982, aims to promote excellence in research by young hydrologists. The Award will be granted for an outstanding paper published by IAHS in a period of two years previous to the deadline for nominations. More information of how to nominate and the list of previous awards is available here. 

Falkenmark Award

This new award, the Falkenmark Award, will be awarded for the first time in 2023 for the best PhD thesis recognising outstanding contributions to hydrological understanding of water scarcity and water supply. Full details of how to nominate can be found here.  

Nominations for all awards should be received by the Secretary General, Christophe Cudennec at [email protected],  no later than 31 December 2022.

Back to NEWS

  back to top