Tison and Falkenmark Awards - Call for Nominations

Nominations are now being accepted for the IAHS Tison and Falkenmark awards.

The IAHS Tison Award

Established in 1982, aims to promote excellence in research by young hydrologists. The Award will be granted for an outstanding paper published by IAHS in a period of two years previous to the deadline for nominations. More information, including the list of previous awards, is available here.

The following criteria are valid:

  • Candidates for the Award must be under 41 years of age at the time their paper was accepted for publication.
  • The Award will consist of a citation in the name of L.J. Tison, an amount of US $1,000 and a free subscription to HSJ for one year. If the successful paper is jointly authored by eligible (age) authors, the monetary award will be divided equally between authors.
  • The Award will be announced annually and will be presented in a public ceremony, normally during either an IUGG/IAHS General Assembly or an IAHS Scientific Assembly.
  • Nominations for the Tison Award may be submitted by the National Committees of IAHS, officers of the IAHS Bureau, officers of the Commissions, HSJ editorial board members, convenors of IAHS symposia or editors of proceedings.
  • Nominations may not be submitted directly by an author or co-author, but may be submitted through one of the aforementioned individuals. The nominations should be sent directly to the Secretary General of IAHS and should contain a reasoned argumentation and noted validation of the candidate’s age.
  • Previous awardees are not eligible for nomination.
  • The Award Committee may not recommend an Award in any one year if none of the papers submitted is of sufficiently high standard. 

The IAHS Falkenmark Award was estabilished in 2022 and is for best PhD thesis:

  • Recognises outstanding contributions to hydrological understanding of water scarcity and water supply.
  • Is granted every year.
  • Highlights the importance of capacity building and knowledge/data gathering in financially disadvantaged countries.

Eligible nominees

  • Grew up in a financially disadvantaged country.
  • Performed the PhD work in one or more financially disadvantaged countries.
  • Holds a PhD certificate, which is dated within the last 2 years.

The Evaluation Committee consists of one IAHS officer, the Chair of the Committee for Africa and invited experts depending on nominees topics 
Can be made by IAHS members
Must be forwarded to the IAHS Secretary General no later than 31 December of the previous year
Must consist of:
-   the nominee's CV (max. 2 pages, A4 format)
-   copy of PhD certificate
-   max 1-page nomination letter, with one sentence citation (max. 200 characters) stating why the nominee is the most qualified person to receive the Falkenmark Award
-   pdf of the PhD thesis, in English or supported by papers in English published in international scientific journals.

Nominations for both of the awards should be received by the Secretary General, Jean-Marie Kileshye Onema at [email protected], no later than 31 December 2023.

Back to NEWS

  back to top