2017 News

« Back to News

2017 International Hydrology Prize medallists

IAHS are pleased to announce the recipients of the International Hydrology Prize (Dooge medal and Volker medal) for 2017.

The award ceremony will be held on July 13th during the IAHS Scientific Assembly in Port Elizabeth, South Africa.

The 2017 recipients of the IAHS-UNESCO-WMO International Hydrology Prize are:
- Zbyszek Kundzewicz, Poland, Dooge medal for his outstanding contributions to an improved understanding of flood events, climate impact on water resources and his leadership in the international community of hydrologists.
- Dan Rosbjerg, Denmark, Volker medal for outstanding scientific achievements within hydrology and water resources, his life-long dedication and service to IAHS and his contributions to IHP

Nominations for the Prize are made by National Committees to IAHS, National Committees to the UNESCO-IHP or National Hydrological Advisors to the WMO, and forwarded to the Secretary General of IAHS for consideration by the Nomination Committee. The Committee consists of the President and a Vice-President of IAHS and representatives of UNESCO and WMO.

As of 2014, two medals are awarded under the International Hydrology Prize: the Dooge medal and the Volker medal. Both medals are intended to distinguish outstanding achievements by hydrological scientists but with a different focus. The Dooge medal is aimed at fundamental contributions to the science of hydrology, whereas the Volker medal is aimed at outstanding applications of hydrological science for the benefit of society at large.


Our warmest congratulations go to both recipients.
      | More