2023 International Hydrology Prize medallists

IAHS are pleased to announce the award of the International Hydrology Prize (Dooge medal and Volker medal) for 2023 to:

Dooge medal - Aldo Fiori, Italy
                        - Efi Foufoula-Georgiou, Greece/USA 

Volker medal - Junguo Liu, China

Nominations for the annual Prize are made by National Committees to IAHS, National Committees to the UNESCO-IHP or National Hydrological Advisors to the WMO, and forwarded to the Secretary General of IAHS for consideration by the Nomination Committee. The Committee consists of the President and a Vice-President of IAHS and representatives of UNESCO and WMO.

As of 2014, two medals are awarded under the International Hydrology Prize: the Dooge medal and the Volker medal. Both medals are intended to distinguish outstanding achievements by hydrological scientists but with a different focus. The Dooge medal is aimed at fundamental contributions to the science of hydrology, whereas the Volker medal is aimed at outstanding applications of hydrological science for the benefit of society at large.


Our warmest congratulations go to all recipients.

The International Hydrology Prize medals will be awarded on 15th July during the IUGG General Assembly in Berlin.

Back to NEWS

  back to top