2023 Prizes 

IAHS-UNESCO-WMO International Hydrology Prize

The International Hydrology Prize is awarded annually by IAHS, with UNESCO and WMO, to two people who have made an outstanding contribution to hydrological science.

Latest Award winners, 2023

Dooge medal - Aldo Fiori (Italy) 
                      - Efi Foufoula-Georgiou (Greece/USA)
Volker medal - Junguo Liu (China)

Tison Award

The IAHS Tison Award, established in 1982, aims to promote excellence in research by young hydrologists. The Award is granted for an outstanding paper published by IAHS in a period of two years previous to the deadline for nominations.

Latest Award winner, 2023

Gunther Liebhard (Austria) for the paper:

Gunther Liebhard, Andreas Klik, Christine Stumpp & Reinhard Nolz (2022) Partitioning evapotranspiration using water stable isotopes and information from lysimeter experiments, Hydrological Sciences Journal, 67:4, 646-661, DOI: 10.1080/02626667.2022.2030866


Falkenmark Award

The Falkenmark Award for best PhD thesis recognises outstanding contributions to hydrological understanding of water scarcity and water supply.

Latest Award winner, 2023

Afua Owusu (Ghana)




  back to top