Hydrological Sciences Journal

Hydrological Sciences Journal (HSJ) is the official Journal of the IAHS and provides a forum for original papers and for the exchange of information and views on significant developments in hydrology worldwide. It is published by Taylor & Francis and available online and in print format. Volume 65 (2020) consists of 16 issues.

The scope of the journal includes:

  • the hydrological cycle on the Earth
  • surface water, groundwater, snow and ice, in all their physical, chemical and biological processes, their interrelationships, and their relationships to geographical factors, atmospheric processes and climate, and Earth processes including erosion and sedimentation
  • hydrological extremes and their impact
  • measurement, mathematical representation and computational aspects of hydrological processes
  • hydrological aspects of the use and management of water resources and their change under the influence of human activity
  • water resources systems, including the planning, engineering, management and economic aspects of applied hydrology

The co-editors of Hydrological Science Journal generally select one paper per issue to highlight as a Featured Article to be available on a free-to-view basis for a limited period. The co-editors aim to select the most innovative papers with exciting science. Tison award papers are also available free-to-view.

Online access to papers in the two most recent volumes of HSJ is by library/personal subscription; all earlier volumes are available open access. The latest articles including accepted author versions are published online prior to being assigned to an issue and may be cited using the doi.

The Impact Factor
of HSJ is 2.186 with a 5-Year Impact Factor of 2.564 (©2020 Clarivate Analytics, 2019 Journal Citation Reports®).


The editors welcome original articles, scientific notes, opinion papers, technical notes and discussions. All papers submitted to HSJ are considered for peer review. Submissions should be made online via ScholarOne Manuscripts. New users should first create an account.Submissions should be made via the Author Centre. Authors are advised to follow the Instructions for authors before submitting a manuscript.


A preferential subscription rate (online/online+print - go to HSJLink to order) is available to IAHS Members for personal use. IAHS members in the poorest countries receive free online subscriptions.
Member subscriptions are accessed using your personal log in at HSJLink in the IAHS membership area. IAHS membership is free of charge.




Attilio Castellarin


Stacey Archfield



Aldo Fiori



Associate Editors Appointed

Georgy Ayzel (Germany), Marina Batalini de Macedo (Brazil), Danielle de Almeida Bressiani (Brazil), Karletta Chief (USA), Mehmet Cüneyd Demirel (Turkey), Zheng Duan (Sweden), Elmira Hassanzadeh (Canada), Mohammed Hssaisoune (Morocco), Monica Ionita (Germany), Ghulam Jeelani (India), Oscar Link (Chile),  Michael Nones (Poland), Susana Ochoa (UK), Christina Papadaki (Greece), Daniele Penna (Italy), Ilaria Prosdocimi (Italy), Mohammed Rahman (Bangladesh), Dulce Buchala Bicca Rodrigues (Brazil), Mojtaba Sadegh (USA), S. Samadi (USA), Muddu Sekhar (India), Hristos Tyralis (Greece)


Alessio Domenghetti (Italy), Stephanie Kampf (USA), Olga Makarieva (Russia), Niko Malamos (Greece), Mario Mendiondo (Brazil), Santosh M. Pingale (India), Ana Requena (Spain), Diego Rivera (Chile), Karen Ryberg (USA), Riddhi Singh (India), Pieter Van Oel (The Netherlands), Xun Sun (China)


Corinna Abesser (UK), Hoori Ajami (USA), Ilenia Battiato (USA), Lhoussaine Bouchaou (Morocco), *Walter Collischonn (Brazil), Krysztof (Chris) Kochanek (Poland), Andrea Petroselli (Italy), Jesus Rodrigo Comino (Spain), Konstantinos Soulis (Greece), Sergiy Vorogushyn (Germany)


Gabriele Chiogna (Germany), *Felipe de Barros (USA), Mike Hutchins (UK), Andreas Langousis (Greece), Steve Lyon (Sweden), *Mikolaj Piniewski (Poland), *Prashant Srivastava (India), Flavia Tauro (Italy), *Anne van Loon (UK)


Fi-John Chang (Taiwan, Republic of China), Thomas R. Kjeldsen (UK), Heidi Kreibich (Germany), Ian Overton (Australia)*Gwyn Rees (UK), Ronald van Nooijen (The Netherlands)


*Xing Fang (USA), *Robert Hirsch (USA), *Shaochun Huang (Germany), Nesa Ilich (Canada), *Ashu Jain (India), Guillaume Thirel (France), Elena Volpi (Italy)


Benjamin Dewals (Belgium), *Giuliano Di Baldassarre (Sweden), Andreas Efstratiadis (Greece), *Emna Gargouri-Ellouze (Tunisia), *Florian Pappenberger (UK), Laurent Ruiz (France),  *Elena Toth (Italy), *James Ward (Australia), *Steven Weijs (Switzerland), Julian R. Thompson (UK)



The policy of
Hydrological Sciences Journal, as agreed by the IAHS Bureau (General Assemblies of Baltimore, 1989, Perugia, 2007, and Gothenburg, 2013), is that the term of appointment of Associate Editors should be limited to a period of three years, renewable to six years, with new Associate Editors being invited to serve each year as existing ones retire from the panel. The number of Associate Editors was increased to 60 in total (in 2019).

The date appointed is given after each entry.
* Now retired 

Former Editors

Zbigniew W. Kundzewicz 
  Demetris Koutsoyiannis
  Mike Acreman
Address by Demetris Koutsoyiannis   Address by Attilio Castellarin    


Former Associate Editors

Follow HSJ!

Twitter Facebook LinkedIn