2015 News

2015 IAHS News

« Back to News

2015 International Hydrology Prize and Tison award medalists

IAHS are pleased to announce the recipients of the International Hydrology Prize (Dooge medal and Volker medal) and the Tison award for 2015.

The award ceremony will take place during the IAHS Plenary on Friday 26 June at the 2015 IUGG Assembly in Prague, Czech Republic http://www.iugg2015prague.com/


IHP Dooge medal: Mary Hill (USA)

IHP Volker medal: Pierre Hubert (France)

The International Hydrology Prize is awarded annually by IAHS, with UNESCO and WMO, to two people who have made an outstanding contribution to hydrological science.

Nominations for the Prize are made by National Committees and forwarded to the Secretary General for consideration by the Nomination Committee. The Committee consists of the President and a Vice-President of IAHS and representatives of UNESCO and WMO.

As of 2014, two medals are awarded under the International Hydrology Prize: the Dooge medal and the Volker medal. Both medals are intended to distinguish outstanding achievements by hydrological scientists but with a different focus. The Dooge medal is aimed at fundamental contributions to the science of hydrology, whereas the Volker medal is aimed at outstanding applications of hydrological science for the benefit of society at large.



Tison Award is shared by Antonino Maltese and Fulvio Capodici (Italy) for their paper:

A. Maltese , P.D. Bates , F. Capodici , M. Cannarozzo , G. Ciraolo & G. La Loggia (2013) Critical analysis of thermal inertia approaches for surface soil water content retrieval, Hydrological Sciences Journal, 58:5, 1144-1161, DOI:10.1080/02626667.2013.802322  (free online access)

The IAHS Tison Award, established in 1982, aims to promote excellence in research by young hydrologists. The Award is granted for an outstanding paper published by IAHS in a period of two years previous to the deadline for nominations.

This award is prestigious. A 1000 US$ prize is allocated, to be shared between the awardees, sponsored by Taylor and Francis the publisher of Hydrological Sciences Journal.


      | More