IAHS Early Career Committee Outcome of evaluation

IAHS is establishing an Early Career Committee (ECC). The ECC is aimed at representing the Early Career membership of the IAHS at the highest level, and within each Commission. IAHS ECC consists of the Early Career Representative of each IAHS Commission plus a chair (Nilay Dogulu) and co-chair (Tim van Emmerik).  ECC members are dedicated to fostering dialogue between Early Career members, and between current and future generations of hydrologists.

The open call for applications attracted 60 early career scientists. There were many high-quality applications from around the world. A comprehensive and detailed review was carried out by the IAHS Commissions and IAHS Bureau, considering diverse composition in terms of gender and geography. Below are the selected members of the IAHS ECC, each representing one IAHS Commission.

Commission ECC Member Gender Career Stage Country
ICCE Joris Eekhout male Post-doc Spain
ICCLAS Tirthankar Roy male Post-doc USA
ICGW Michelle Newcomer female Post-doc USA
ICRS Kartic Bera male Post-doc India
ICSH Svenja Fischer female Post-doc Germany
ICSIH Elzbieta Czyzowska-Wisniewski female Post-doc USA
ICSW Honeyeh Iravani female PhD UK
ICT Giovanny Mosquera male PhD Ecuador
ICWQ Jean Nepomuscene Namugize male PhD Rwanda
ICWRS Gokcen Uysal male Post-doc Turkey

The ECC is a two-year mandate. The first mandate will officially come into force from July 2019 at the 27th IUGG General Assembly (in Montreal, Canada http://iugg2019montreal.com/) and run until July 2021, when the next ECC will take over at the IAHS Scientific Assembly in Montpellier, France.

For an efficient inception, the ECC will get to work immediately! Their first task will be to organize activities for the upcoming IAHS symposia to be held as part of the 27th IUGG GA in Montreal, Canada.

We wish the IAHS ECC great success and look forward to working together!

Back to NEWS

  back to top