International Association of Hydrological Sciences Association Internationale des Sciences Hydrologique

2014 News


« Back to News

2014 International Hydrology Prize and Tison award medalists

Congratulations to the recipients of the International Prize (Dooge medal and Volker medal) and the Tison award for 2014!


Dooge medal Demetris Koutsoyiannis (Greece)

Volker medal Jun Xia (China)

Awarded at the Dooge Nash International Symposium 2014 in Dublin, Ireland (24-25 April)

The International Hydrology Prize is awarded annually by IAHS, with UNESCO and WMO, to two people who have made an outstanding contribution to hydrological science.

Nominations for the Prize are made by National Committees and forwarded to the Secretary General for consideration by the Nomination Committee. The Committee consists of the President and a Vice-President of IAHS and representatives of UNESCO and WMO.

As of 2014, two medals are awarded under the International Hydrology Prize: the Dooge medal and the Volker medal. Both medals are intended to distinguish outstanding achievements by hydrological scientists but with a different focus. The Dooge medal is aimed at fundamental contributions to the science of hydrology, whereas the Volker medal is aimed at outstanding applications of hydrological science for the benefit of society at large.


Lavers, D., Prudhomme, C. & Hannah, D.M., 2013. European precipitation connections with large-scale mean sea-level pressure (MSLP) fields. 

Hydrological Sciences Journal, 58 (2), 310–327 (free online access)

The IAHS Tison Award, established in 1982, aims to promote excellence in research by young hydrologists. The Award is granted for an outstanding paper published by IAHS in a period of two years previous to the deadline for nominations.

      | More