2016 News

2016 IAHS News

« Back to News

2016 International Hydrology Prize medalists

Congratulations to the recipients of the International Hydrology Prize (Dooge medal and Volker medal) for 2016!

Dooge medal: Jeffrey McDonnell (Canada)

Left to Right:  Blanca Jiménez-Cisneros (UNESCO), Jeffrey McDonnell (Dooge Medal Recipient), Hubert Savenije (President, IAHS), Tommaso Abrate (WMO), Christophe Cudennec (Secretary General, IAHS).

Volker medal: Denis Hughes (South Africa)

Left to Right: Blanca Jiménez-Cisneros (UNESCO), Denis Hughes (Volker Medal Recipient), Hubert Savenije (President, IAHS), Tommaso Abrate (WMO), Christophe Cudennec (Secretary General, IAHS).

Awarded during the 12th Kovacs meeting at UNESCO in Paris, France (15th June 2016).

The International Hydrology Prize is awarded annually by IAHS, with UNESCO and WMO, to two people who have made an outstanding contribution to hydrological science.

Nominations for the Prize are made by National Committees to IAHS, National Committees to the UNESCO-IHP or National Hydrological Advisors to the WMO, and forwarded to the Secretary General of IAHS for consideration by the Nomination Committee. The Committee consists of the President and a Vice-President of IAHS and representatives of UNESCO and WMO.

Two medals are awarded under the International Hydrology Prize: the Dooge medal and the Volker medal. Both medals are intended to distinguish outstanding achievements by hydrological scientists but with a different focus. The Dooge medal is aimed at fundamental contributions to the science of hydrology, whereas the Volker medal is aimed at outstanding applications of hydrological science for the benefit of society at large.


      | More