2019 News

2019 IAHS News

« Back to News

2019 International Hydrology Prize medals

IAHS are pleased to announce the recipients of the International Hydrology Prize (Dooge medal and Volker medal) for 2019.

The award ceremony will be held on Friday July 12th 2019 during the IAHS plenary at the IUGG General Assembly in Montreal, Canada.

The 2019 recipients of the IAHS-UNESCO-WMO International Hydrology Prize are:

Dooge medal - Alberto Montanari, at the Department of Civil, Chemical, Environmental and Material Engineering, University of Bologna, Italy

Volker medal - Jan Szolgay, at the Slovak Technical University, Faculty of Civil Engineering, Department of Land and Water Resources Management, Slovakia

Nominations for the annual Prize are made by National Committees to IAHS, National Committees to the UNESCO-IHP or National Hydrological Advisors to the WMO, and forwarded to the Secretary General of IAHS for consideration by the Nomination Committee. The Committee consists of the President and a Vice-President of IAHS and representatives of UNESCO and WMO.

As of 2014, two medals are awarded under the International Hydrology Prize: the Dooge medal and the Volker medal. Both medals are intended to distinguish outstanding achievements by hydrological scientists but with a different focus. The Dooge medal is aimed at fundamental contributions to the science of hydrology, whereas the Volker medal is aimed at outstanding applications of hydrological science for the benefit of society at large.


Our warmest congratulations go to both recipients.
      | More