2019 News

2019 IAHS News

« Back to News

2019 International Hydrology Prize medalists and Tison award ceremony

Congratulations to the recipients of the International Hydrology Prize (Dooge medal and Volker medal) and Tison award for 2019!

The International Hydrology Prize is awarded annually by IAHS, with UNESCO and WMO, to two people who have made an outstanding contribution to hydrological science. The 2019 IHP medals were awarded during the 27th IUGG General Assembly in Montreal, Canada as follows:

Dooge medal - Alberto Montanari, at the Department of Civil, Chemical, Environmental and Material Engineering, University of Bologna, Italy 'For pioneering contributions to understanding hydrological systems in the presence of environmental and climatic change.'
For the full citation and response see the IAHS webpage https://iahs.info/About-IAHS/Competition--Events/International-Hydrology-Prize/International-Hydrology-Prize-Winners/A-Montanari.do

Volker medal - Jan Szolgay, at the Slovak Technical University, Faculty of Civil Engineering, Department of Land and Water Resources Management, Slovakia 'In recognition of his international leadership in engineering hydrological research for the benefit of society.'
For the full citation and response see the IAHS webpage https://iahs.info/About-IAHS/Competition--Events/International-Hydrology-Prize/International-Hydrology-Prize-Winners/J-Szolgay.do

The 2019 Tison Award was presented to Sandra Pool (Switzerland) and Marc Vis (The Netherlands) for the paper:

Sandra Pool, Marc Vis & Jan Seibert (2018) Evaluating model performance: towards a non-parametric variant of the Kling-Gupta efficiency, Hydrological Sciences Journal,
63:13-14, 1941-1953, DOI: 10.1080/02626667.2018.1552002
The IAHS Tison Award, established in 1982, aims to promote excellence in research by young hydrologists. The Award is granted for an outstanding paper published by IAHS in a period of two years previous to the deadline for nominations.

For the full citation and response see the IAHS web page: https://iahs.info/About-IAHS/Competition--Events/Tison-Award/Tison-Award-winners/S-Pool--M-Vis/

The paper is available free to view.

      | More