2018 News

« Back to News

2018 International Hydrology Prize medalists and Tison award ceremony

Congratulations to the recipients of the International Hydrology Prize (Dooge medal and Volker medal) and Tison award for 2018!

Left to right: Christophe Cudennec (Secretary General IAHS), Johannes Cullmann (Director, Climate and Water Department WMO), Howard Wheater (Dooge Medal Recipient), Andreas Schumann (Volker Medal Recipient), Ryan T. Bailey (Tison Award Recipient), Abou Amani (Chief of Section HSS, UNESCO), Günter Blöschl (President IAHS).

The International Hydrology Prize is awarded annually by IAHS, with UNESCO and WMO, to two people who have made an outstanding contribution to hydrological science. The 2018 IHP medals were awarded during the WMO Conference for Prosperity through Hydrological Services (HydroConference) as follows:

IHP Dooge Medal: Howard Wheater (Canada)
"In recognition of his international leadership in hydrological research of scientific excellence, coupled with its translation into policy and practice and application worldwide.” For the full citation and response see the IAHS webpage https://iahs.info/About-IAHS/Competition--Events/International-Hydrology-Prize/International-Hydrology-Prize-Winners/H.Wheater.do

IHP Volker medal:  Andreas Schumann (Germany)
“For pioneering contributions to water resources research for the benefit of society”. For the full citation and response see the IAHS webpage https://iahs.info/About-IAHS/Competition--Events/International-Hydrology-Prize/International-Hydrology-Prize-Winners/A.Schumann.do

The Tison award was presented to Ryan Bailey and is shared by Ryan T. Bailey (USA) & Saman Tavakoli Kivi (Iran) for the paper:

Ryan T. Bailey & Saman Tavakoli Kivi (2017) Method for estimating available groundwater volume of small coral islands, Hydrological Sciences Journal, 62:14, 2381-2392, DOI: 10.1080/02626667.2017.1382703

The IAHS Tison Award, established in 1982, aims to promote excellence in research by young hydrologists. The Award is granted for an outstanding paper published by IAHS in a period of two years previous to the deadline for nominations.

For the full citation and response see the IAHS web page: https://iahs.info/About-IAHS/Competition--Events/Tison-Award/Tison-Award-winners/Bailey--Tavakoli-Kivi/
The paper is available open access.

      | More