STAHY Best Paper Award

During the IAHS Bureau held in Delft on October 23, 2012 it was approved to establish a new IAHS Award promoted and managed by the International Commission on Statistical Hydrology (ICSH-IAHS).

The name of the award is STAHY Best Paper Award of ICSH-IAHS

The award consists of the IAHS Award Certificate and of the economical support (registration fee and accommodation) for one of the authors that will be invited to give a lecture during the ICSH annual workshop.

The first award was assigned during the STAHY'13 Conference - Kos, Greece, 17-19 October 2013.


  • In the first or second call of papers of ICSH topical conference, the award selection will be announced and deadlines for the papers evaluation will be fixed. Before the deadline, each of the ICSH Officers will propose five papers for the Award, published during the evaluation period. The evaluation period will be 3 years starting from 5 years before the ICSH topical conference year (for the conference that will be on 2019 the evaluation period will 2015-2017).
  • All collected papers will be ordered by citations present in Scopus database (excluding self citations of all authors) at the deadline.
  • The first 20 papers will be evaluated by the ICSH officers.


The STAHY Best Paper Award 2023 will be assigned during STAHY 2023 Workshop - Boston, USA to

Wouter Knoben, University of Sasketchewan, Canada; Jim Freer, University of Sasketchewan, Canada; Ross Woods, University of Bristol, UK

for the paper: Knoben, W.J.M., Freer, J.E., & Woods, R.A. (2019). Inherent benchmark or not? Comparing Nash–Sutcliffe and Kling–Gupta efficiency scores. Hydrology and Earth System Sciences, 23 (10), pp. 4323-4331, DOI: 10.5194/hess-23-4323-2019.

                                                                                                              STAHY Best paper Award 2023 Winners


The STAHY Best Paper Award 2022 was assigned during STAHY 2022 Workshop - Chia Sardinia, Italy to

for the paper: Papalexiou, S.M. (2018). Unified theory for stochastic modelling of hydroclimatic processes: Preserving marginal distributions, correlation structures, and intermittency. Advances in Water Resources, 115, pp. 234-252, DOI: 10.1016/j.advwatres.2018.02.013.


The STAHY Best Paper Award 2021 was assigned during STAHY 2021 Workshop - Valencia, Spain (online) to

for the paper: McInerney, D., Thyer, M., Kavetski, D., Lerat, J., & Kuczera, G. (2017). Improving probabilistic prediction of daily streamflow by identifying Pareto optimal approaches for modeling heteroscedastic residual errors. Water Resources Research, 53 (3), pp. 2199-2239, DOI: 10.1002/2016WR019168.


The STAHY Best Paper Award 2020 was assigned during STAHY 2021 Workshop - Valencia, Spain (online) to

for the paper: Serinaldi, F., Kilsby, C.G, & Lombardo, F. (2018). Untenable nonstationarity: An assessment of the fitness for purpose of trend tests in hydrology. Advances in Water Resources, 111, pp. 132-155, DOI: 10.1016/j.advwatres.2017.10.015.


The STAHY Best Paper Award 2019 was assigned during STAHY 2019 Workshop - Nanjing, China to

for the paper: Read, L.K., & Vogel, R.M. (2015). Reliability, return periods, and risk under nonstationarity. Water Resources Research, 51 (8), pp. 6381-6398, DOI: 10.1002/2015WR017089.


The STAHY Best Paper Award 2018 was assigned during STAHY 2018 Workshop - Adelaide, Australia to

for the paper: Schöniger, A., Wöhling, T., Samaniego, L., & Nowak, W. (2014). Model selection on solid ground: Rigorous comparison of nine ways to evaluate Bayesian model evidence. Water Resources Research, 50 (12), pp. 9484-9513, DOI:10.1002/2014WR016062.


The STAHY Best Paper Award 2017 was assigned during STAHY 2017 Workshop - Warsaw, Poland to

STAHY Award 2017for the paper: Cheng, L., & Aghakouchak, A. (2014). Nonstationary precipitation intensity-duration-frequency curves for infrastructure design in a changing climate. Scientific Reports, 4, art. no. 7093, DOI: 10.1038%2Fsrep07093.


The STAHY Best Paper Award 2016 was assigned during STAHY 2016 Workshop - Quebec, Canada to

for the paper: Salas, J.D., & Obeysekera, J. (2014). Revisiting the concepts of return period and risk for nonstationary hydrologic extreme events. Journal of Hydrologic Engineering, 19 (3), pp. 554-568, DOI: 10.1061/(ASCE)HE.1943-5584.0000820


The STAHY Best Paper Award 2015 was assigned during STAHY 2015 Workshop - Addis Ababa, Ethiopia to

for the paper: Salvadori, G., De Michele, C., & Durante, F. (2011). On the return period and design in a multivariate framework. Hydrology and Earth System Sciences, 15 (11), pp. 3293-3305, DOI: 10.5194/hess-15-3293-2011


The STAHY Best Paper Award 2014 was assigned during STAHY 2014 Workshop - Abu Dhabi, UAE to

for the paper: Oudin L., Kay A., Andraassian V., & Perrin C. (2010). Are seemingly physically similar catchments truly hydrologically similar? Water Resources Research, 46 (11), DOI: 10.1029/2009WR008887


The STAHY Best Paper Award 2013 was assigned during STAHY 2013 Workshop - Kos, Greece to

for the paper: Kao, S.-C., & Govindaraju, R.S. (2010). A copula-based joint deficit index for droughts. Journal of Hydrology, 380 (1-2), pp. 121-134, DOI: 10.1016/j.jhydrol.2009.10.029

  back to top